States We Serve

As An Energy Brokerage, Here Is Everything You Need to Know About Energy Deregulation In The United States Within The Domestic Market.

Over the last 40 years, more than 20 U.S. states have deregulated their energy markets.

However, only 17 states have deregulated their electricity markets since the energy policy act in 1992.  Energy market deregulation was created to keep prices low and encourage competition among energy suppliers.

But which states are deregulated for energy in the United States? Is it different for gas and electricity? Can you save money in your state if energy is deregulated?

This guide will break down those questions and more. So, let’s get started.

Which States Have Deregulated Electricity Markets?

In The United States, the following states have deregulated electricity and gas markets:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Washington DC

The following states have deregulated gas markets only:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • South Dakota
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

We will dive into each state and learn a bit more about the history and current policies in place.

Scroll to Top